A Letter To My Younger Self

Dear younger self,

I am writing this letter to inform you that soon, few years from now, every thing that you did (good or bad) will make you realize that life is an unending lesson to be learned. I will not sugar coat things for you to feel better, but believe me, just do good and you will be fine. Though sometimes there will be instances that even you’ve done appropriate things, life will always challenge you.

I want you to know that, please, don’t be in a hurry to grow up. Don’t say, “I wish I have work already.” or “I can’t wait to move into another place and be independent.” Every thing is so much better if it takes time to stumble. Enjoy your youth, because time cannot be replay and cannot be stop. Don’t be such a rush into experiencing things. I know you think of the consequences before you act. I believe in you.

Are you worried about what will happen to you in the future? It’s okay. At least you feel the pressure. So be better, plan and make it happen. You have a journal, right? Continue on listing your thoughts and all the dreams you want to achieve.

Don’t worry, people around you is ready to listen if you need advice about adulthood (adulting101), if you ponder about growing up. Your parents will always be there for you. Remember, not everybody is going to be your friend. It’s great to know people. Talk to them, know their life stories. Tell them yours, but not everything about you. Be a good listener when someone needs you, hug them and make them realize that they are not alone.

People will come and go, stick that to your head. People will not always love you. Some may hurt you, intentionally or accidentally. You will meet them and find out who they really are. You will encounter people that will stay, people like them still exist. I promise you.

Funny how you think that you are unworthy of having someone special. Goodness gracious, you will meet your man soon. Don’t think about those guys who put you down. Just don’t overthink. They are not worthy of your time. Remember that guy who tried to kiss you and you refused? Yep, you’re right. He’s not worth it. Remember that guy always ask you out but you found out that he’s already taken? I know, that sucks. How about that guy you loved but became a ghost, you never heard about him anymore, you still remember? Bear in your mind, love them. Just don’t be stupid. Your motto in love? Don’t change it.

I’m sorry to hear about the nights you experienced being fully awake and thinking about those who matter to you. I’m sorry to hear if someone left you, if someone said such stupidity about you. Every one will have a taste of what they deserve. Save those tears for something worthy.

I want you to know, younger self, that just like you.. I am still finding myself. Just like what I said earlier, life is an unending lesson to be learned. I met a lot of circles, they’re nice. I lost some, but I gained some.

I hope you live well. I hope you love fully. I hope for your courage.

You are such a wonderful being. Don’t ever think that you are not. There will be times that you want to quit, but please, don’t. I know you can do it.

“Be courageous, but not foolhardy. Walk proud as you are.” – Maya Angelou

– Old wiser self

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jim says:

    I’ve been surfing on-line more than 3 hours as of late, yet I by
    no means found any fascinating article like yours.
    It’s beautiful value sufficient for me. In my view, if all
    webmasters and bloggers made just right content material
    as you probably did, the net will be a lot more helpful than ever before.

    1. bingabella says:

      Hi. Thanks for stopping by and lending some time to read at my page. And for your kind words! xx

Leave a Reply

