One Day

“This is where it all begins. Everything starts here, today.”

Few years ago, I was at a bookstore looking for something I could buy and read. Not sure what year was that, 2011 or 2012? I’m not in the mood to see anyone that day, well except for my classmates, we had classes earlier that day. I decided to stroll around mall after school. I was a little bit depressed that time because of a past lover, and kinda happy too. How indecisive I am.

Back to the bookstore, I saw this novel from David Nicholls and it caught my attention. “One Day. Twenty years. Two people.” It says. The words intrigued me so much. I decided to read what the book is all about. Of course, I didn’t read the entire book. I looked at the back cover and read the synopsis. I bought it later on.

It took me a month to finish the book. It was kind of a book I never wanted to finish. I wanted that book to be part of my late night ceremonies before I go to bed. I flipped and read the pages with all my attention to it. Sipping my coffee, not minding my phone. I’m at my “I’m all yours” mode.

After some months, I’ve read from the internet that it will be made into a movie. Weeks of waiting, a trailer was already released. I was really happy to see the trailer. Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgees will play the main characters. I told myself that I will not see the movie at the cinema, I’ll just probably wait for it to be premiered on HBO. It did happen. When the movie premiered at HBO, I wasn’t sure if I should watch it that time. My parents were there at the entertainment room and I told them that was the novel I was reading before. They were smiling at me because I was like a child in front of the television.

Today is December 08, 2014, after how many years, I watched that movie again. Classes are suspended today so I ended up opening my laptop and downloading movies.

Here are some quotes that I love from the movie, One Day:

tumblr_lqhtb0A3SE1qdjgi2o1_500

“You’re gorgeous, you old hag, and if I could give you just one gift ever for the rest of your life it would be this. Confidence. It would be the gift of confidence. Either that or a scented candle”

                                                           – Dexter to Emma

images

“I’m not the consolation prize, Dex. I’m not something you resort to. I happen to think I’m worth more than that.”

                                                          – Emma to Dexter

tumblr_nfmoy0U4MH1u1m3lmo1_250

I found myself having tears, again. I didn’t expect that I’d still have that emotion even though I already know what will happen at the end. The story is both sad and happy. I just love how Emma and Dexter became so complicated but they later on found out what they really want to their lives. That they love each other. For twenty years, they became friends even though there are times that they didn’t have constant communication. For twenty years, they didn’t said what they really feel for each other until later on, when they became older.

I will always remember the scene where Emma saw Dexter’s Yin Yang tattoo.

Dexter: I got that in Thailand. It’s a Ying Yang.

Emma: Looks like a road sign.

Dexter: Well, it means a perfect union of opposites.

And their skinny dipping scene.

Dexter: But me and you, it would be different. I think we’d want different things, and I don’t think I’m ready, you know. If you wanted to,you know, have a bit of fun, holiday fling, no obligations.

Emma: Oh, God.

Dexter: I’ll take that as a no then, shall I?

Emma: I think so. I think our moment’s passed.

Dexter: Come on, I’m not expressing myself clearly.
Emma: No, no, you are, Dex.

Aside from some other novels that I’ve already read, Dexter Mayhew and Emma Morley’s life will always be my favorite fictional characters and definitely can make me cry, again and again.

Leave a Reply

