Friends In Crisis

“If you’re alone, I’ll be your shadow. If you want to cry, I’ll be your shoulder. If you want a hug, I’ll be your pillow. If you need to be happy, I’ll be your smile… But anytime you need a friend, I’ll just be me.”

Good morning, people. Or good evening to some part of the world. It’s already 1:26 in the morning here where I am living. Yes, I’m still alive and my eyes wouldn’t like to close. My body is still functioning maybe because of the caffeine from the coffee I had earlier.

Today is already Sunday and I could say that this week has been slightly boring… for me. Maybe not to everyone. Especially to those who went through a lot for this week.

From what I’ve remembered, there were few people who talked to me about their personal problems. Well, I feel sorry for them. How I wish I could do something to ease the pain that they’re experiencing. All I can do is to be there for them, or I could offer a warm and tight hug. Maybe the hurt would lessen, even just for a while.

There was a time where someone approached me and hell… she’s crying.

“Anong problema?” (What’s wrong?) I told her.

large“Break na kami.” (We broke up.) She said.

My eyes widened because I never thought that they would come to an end. Nine months… nine freaking months.

“Magiging okay ka rin.” (You’ll be okay.)

I hugged her just like how a mother hug a daughter dramatically. I can’t say any word while she was crying. All I can do is to caress her hair and her back.

“Thank you for being there for me.”

I smiled. “You can always count on me.”

Then here’s the second scenario.

Few nights ago, while I am working on something school-related, my phone vibrated. It just simply means it’s a notification, maybe a text, a PM on facebook, viber, wechat or whatever.

A good friend said hello.

“Tulog na. Madaling araw na.” (You should sleep. It’s already early in the morning.) I told him.

When he PMed me, I already knew that he’s in trouble. He always approach me when he’s not okay. As a good friend, I always spare some time to listen to his stories.

“Bakit ganito ang buhay? Sobrang unfair.” (Why life is so unfair?)

In my mind, I already knew that he’s going to tell me or ask something about what should he do to his girlfriend.

“What’s the matter, brother? Kwento pls.”

Then he told me what happened. He told me that his girlfriend wants to let go already. He told me he’s not yet ready to let go of everything they had for three years… three freaking years.

I told him what I think about them. Maybe his girlfriend wants freedom because she’s somehow lost. She wants to find herself, without his help. I told him that if ever they break up, if they’re really for each other, they will find each other again.

“Siguro gusto nya lang mabawasan yung iniiisip niya araw araw. Hindi sa selfish sya. Ayaw nya ring mahirapan ka.” (Maybe she just want to lessen what bothers her every day. Not being selfish, she doesn’t want you to suffer.)

Convincing him was hard.

“Nasa iyo na ang huling say about sa inyo, binigyan ka na nya ng choice. Ipapalaklak ko lang ang realidad sayo, hindi pwedeng magmumukmok ka jan kakaisip ng tungkol sa inyo. Kung sa palagay mo Malabo na, sign na yan.

Hindi porket bibitawan nyo ang isa’t isa, hindi ibig sabihin nun hindi nyo na mahal ang isa’t isa.

Sabi nga sa Perks of Being a Wallflower, we accept the love we think we deserve. Gusto ko lang na may marealize ka. Everything is going to be fine, in God’s time. Pray lang.

(The decision is yours, she already gave you choices. I would like to sink in to your mind, the reality that it’s not right to burden yourself over-thinking about the two of you. If you think that your relationship with her is not clear anymore, it’s a sign.

When you, guys, decided to let go of each other, that doesn’t mean that you don’t love each other.

Just like what a quote from Perks of Being a Wallflower, we accept the love we think we deserve. I would like you to realize something. Everything is going to be fine, in God’s time. Just pray.)

These we’re all my thoughts and I told him these. I’d like to be honest and opinionated to him, as a friend. It could help him to somehow feel better.

Days had passed, I don’t have any idea if what happened to my friend and to his girlfriend. I don’t know if they decided to break up and say good bye to their three-year old relationship.

It’s hard, you know. Even though I’m just the friend they run into when they screwed up, I feel so much sympathy. If I could just do everything that could make them happy, I wouldn’t think twice and do those.

I value friendship and love.

Always here for you,

Bing

Leave a Reply

