The Lightning

“And you’re sure you don’t want to wait to be in love? Wait for the lightning?”

“The what?”

“You know—the lightning. The omigod, I’m in love.”
p.159

When I was ten, I’d asked my dad how he’d known my mom was the one for him. He’d proposed after five dates—they’d only known each other a month.

“Lightning only strikes once,” my dad said.
“And when it hits, you know.”
p.162

– Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have)

I was reading this novel and talked about “the lightning”

Isn’t it a cute term for that feeling of being in love? Haha.
The lightning.

When will you realize that it is already the lightning?

Is it already it when you always think about him/ her?
Is it when you create scenarios inside your head that involves the both of you?
Is it when you want to know more about him/ her?

When is the right time to say that it is the lightning?
Will it occur once you’ve seen him/ her?
Will it happen during your first date with him/ her?

What lightning means to me?

Maybe it is the lightning when I feel a strange feeling once I see him.
Maybe it is the lightning when I want to see him.
Maybe it is the lightning when I decide to have him accompany me when I’m free.

Maybe it is the lightning when I find myself happy when I’m with him.
Maybe it is the lightning when I couldn’t help myself from smiling when he’s talking to me.
Maybe it is the lightning when I don’t feel anxious when he’s around.

Still a lot of questions and maybe’s.

But one thing for sure is that, I’m still waiting for this lightning I’m talking about.
We might not know, someday, in a place and time where I don’t expect, there it is. Right in front of me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

