Talk About My Favorite Movie

I’m not this type of person that watches the same movie over and over again, except of it is really a good one. Talk about my favorite movie, eh? Okay, I’m having a hard time defining what my favorite movie is.. Oh, wait! I’m just gonna put my top 5 favorite movies!  

So… Here are my top 5 favorite movies:  

5. 500 Days of Summer  

“This is a story of boy meets girl, but you should know upfront, this is not a love story.”

image

The first time I watched this was when I was in highschool. I watched it online. I actually kind of hate-love this movie. Hate because of what Summer did to Tom. Well, I felt sad when Summer decided to leave Tom like they did nothing. They were already there.. But one day, Summer said goodbye to Tom. It sucks though. Actually I think there’s a lot of Summer Finn living in the real world. Treating someone like they’re so special then the next day you’ll just a stranger to them. Anyway, just like what I said earlier, I hate-love the movie. But i definitely love the cast! Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt.  

“People should be able to say how they feel, how they really feel, not ya know, some words that some stranger put in their mouth. Words like love, that don’t mean anything.” – Tom  

4. Juno

image

Juno is one of my all time favorites. I watched it thrice already, when I was in highschool, my freshman year in college and last summer of 2013. Not only because I love Michael Cera but the story itself is wonderful. The story made such an impact to me that in everything that you do, you should be responsible enough. Not because you’re young, you do things that you think you can do. Just like the iconic Lea Salonga said “Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.” The movie made me sad about what Juno did to her child, she gave it to someone who really needs and wants to have a child. Another thing that this movie taught is that when you love someone, it isn’t about how you look on the outside. It is love when you accept someone for what he/ she really is. Not minding their flaws, and still make them feel they’re perfect for you.  

“In my opinon, the best thing you can do is find a person who loves you for exactly what you are. Good mood, bad mood, ugly, pretty, handsome, what have you, the right person will still think the sun shines out your ass. That’s the kind of person that’s worth sticking with.” – Juno’s Dad  

3. Titanic

image

Ahhhh.. The classic love story of Jack and Rose. I was so young the first time I watched this, elementary I think? Then I watched it again when I was in highschool. Can’t remember when. But I’m pretty sure I watched it more than twice. Who would not cry when Jack died? That really crushed my heart. Jack and Rose are different people, they have differences but it wasn’t a big deal for them. What’s important to them is they love each other. Until the very end, Jack proved to Rose his sincere love for her.  

“Promise me you’ll survive. That you won’t give up, no matter what happens, no matter how hopeless. Promise me now, Rose, and never let go of that promise.” – Jack  

2. One Day  

“Twenty years. Two people”

image

Dexter and Emma. Emma and Dexter. Before I watched the movie, I read the book. It is actually one of my favorite novels too, by David Nichols. Then I watched it when it premiered on HBO. The movie isn’t really moving if you weren’t able to read the book. I somehow can relate to Emma Morley. She don’t rush things. She waited. She’s not selfish and thinks about other’s sake instead herself. Dex and Em loved each other from the first time they met. It’s just that they were afraid to tell what they really feel. They slept together, did skinny dipping but they’re not together. They consider themselves as friends only. But you know the feeling that when you and that special someone is away and have a great distance and different lives to live.. They still think about each other when they had separate lives. Dex married someone. Em lived with another man. But in the end, they realized that they’re incomplete. Only to find out that the only way for them to be complete is that them being together. I remember I cried when reading the last part of the book. I don’t want to spoil but yeah.. Someone died. Haha, did I just ruined the moment? Sorry, I spoiled something! But I’ll always stick into my mind that distance can help you to know what you really feel for someone. It isn’t important if you two are not together and have different lives. The important thing is you are both aware that there is something special between the both of you. It isn’t too late to be with someone you really love even though you just realized it when you get older.  

“You’re gorgeous, you old hag, and if I could give you just one gift ever for the rest of your life it would be this. Confidence. It would be the gift of confidence. Either that or a scented candle.” – Dexter  

1. The Notebook 

“They didn’t agree on much. In fact, they didn’t agree on anything. They fought all the time and challenged each other ever day. But despite their differences, they had one important thing in common. They were crazy about each other.”  

image

I’ve seen this movie last summer of this year. I just decided to download this movie because I’m having trouble on sleeping. Yes, I had sleepless nights. This is a one of kind story of Noah and Allie. Just like in One Day, they had their separate lives but in the end.. They became together. This is such a tear jerker movie, I swear. Because you can feel the characters’ pain, love, lust, and forgiveness. The Notebook portrays the real meaning of True Love. Noah and Allie may not be each other’s first love, but they’re each other’s true love. Allie almost left Noah and had a fiance but it never became a hindrance for what they really feel. Just watch it if you haven’t seen this one. You’ll never regret it!  

“Poets often describe love as an emotion that we can’t control, one that overwhelms logic and common sense. That’s what it was like for me. I didn’t plan on falling in love with you, and I doubt if you planned on falling in love with me. But once we met, it was clear that neither of us could control what was happening to us. We fell in love, despite our differences, and once we did, something rare and beautiful was created. For me, love like that has happened only once, and that’s why every minute we spent together has been seared in my memory. I’ll never forget a single moment of it.”

Leave a Reply

